Boat Rental Frequently Asked Questions
Do I have to be a member of your boat club to rent a boat?
You do not have to be a member of our boat club to rent a boat.
What is the minimum age to rent a boat?
You must be 21 with a valid driver license and valid credit card to rent a boat.
Do I need a boaters safety card to rent a boat?
Maybe- Florida law states people born on or after January 1, 1988 need a Boater safety education card to legally operate a boat. Nonresidents must comply with the boating safety education requirements. However, if you have proof in your possession that you have completed a boater safety course or equivalency exam that meets or exceeds Florida's requirements (usually in the form of a certificate or card), you would not need to have a Florida Boating Safety Education Identification Card.
Are there any exemptions to the boaters safety card requirement?
Yes, there are some exemptions.
- If you are licensed by the Coast Guard as a master of vessel
- An operator who is accompanied onboard by a person who is least 18 years old and possesses the required Boating Safety Education Identification Card, provided that person is attendant to and responsible for the safe operation of the vessel
- An operator who is accompanied onboard by a person who is exempt from the educational requirements, provided that person is attendant to and responsible for the safe operation of the vessel
If you are confused , contact us and we will clarify.
Do you offer safety training?
Yes. We are required by Florida law to offer safety training and an operational orientation on the boat you are renting upon your arrival. We want your experience on the water to be fun and safe. We suggest you watch an 18 minute video on boating safety at http://rentalboatsafety.com/. This video is a valuable resource and is highly recommended. Our safety video link is below.
How do I make a reservation?
Look for the button on our site to reserve a boat. Complete the quick registration . You can then view the availability calendar and make your reservation online. If you experience any trouble, you may call us for assistance. 850-453-3435.
Will you charge my credit card today?
No. We will process the security deposit and rental fee upon your arrival. The information is requested at the time you make your reservation in order to hold your reservation. We accept Visa, Master Card and Discover.
What is your cancellation policy?
There is no fee if you must cancel your reservation prior to departure due to inclement weather. Otherwise, we request a 72 hour notice if you wish to cancel your reservation. In case of a no show, we will charge the credit card you used to make your reservation for the full amount of the rental.
Is fuel included?
No. We send the boats out full and when you return from boating, we refuel the boat. You are responsible for the fuel you burn during your rental period.
How much will the fuel bill be?
Your fuel bill will vary greatly depending on how you run the boat and which boat you rent . We will be happy to discuss this with you upon arrival.
Where are we allowed to go?
Our boundaries are limited to the Navarre Bridge (East), Perdido Pass (South), Theo Baars Bridge (West) and no North boundary. Our rental fleet is not allowed in the gulf. The boundary area is large and allows for many types of boating experiences.
Can we bring alcohol?
Yes. However, the operator of the boat must refrain from alcohol during the entire rental period.
Can we fish?
Yes, fishing is allowed. Some boats are better equipped than others for fishing. Fishing licenses are required by the state. We do not sell fishing licenses, bait, rods and reels or tackle. You may purchase a license at http://myfwc.com/license/ .
Who must wear a life jacket?
We suggest all passengers wear a life jacket while underway. Florida law requires all children 6 and under wear a Coast Guard Approved life jacket at all times while boating. We do not provide infant life jackets. Please bring your own for all children under 30 pounds.
What Safety equipment is on the boat?
All boats have required USCG equipment. Adult life jackets for rated capacity, Type IV throwable, fire extinguisher, sound equipment, day and night flares. If you are bringing small children you are required to bring their life jackets. We strongly suggest you buy each child their own life jacket and label it with their name. All children 12 years and younger are encouraged to wear their life jackets at all times while onboard. Children 6 and under must wear Coast Guard approved life vest at all times. Safety is our first priority.
What do I need to bring when renting a boat?
Bring your driver license, major credit card, boaters safety card (if required), sunscreen, towels, snacks, drinks, cooler, sunglasses, hat and anything else that will make your day fun on the water.
We are not familiar with the area waterways. Can you tell us where to go?
Yes. Our experienced staff will be happy to give you pointers on where to go for the best boating experience. We provide a map to you with points of interest labeled as well as any hazards you will need to be aware of.